Twitter Expert/Academic Connect

Goal:

For the first part of  the Twitter Academic Connect, I had to make a list and add ten authors, professors, or experts in a field that I was interested in. They didn’t have to be in exactly in the field you were interested in, but at least associated with. My next step was to mention them in a tweet, thanking them for some information I received from them. My last couple of steps was to ask them questions about my topic, whether it was a specific question, advice, or opinion, and then wait for their reply.

Results:

The results I obtained were quite disappointing. Out of the ten people on my list, only one person replied, which was Matt Farah. I was expecting to get a reply from at least eight of the out of ten. But at least I got one reply, which alleviated my disappointment a bit.

People I followed:

  1. @bestnewautos- I followed best news autos because I knew they knew about a lot of different cars, current ones, and future.
  2. @CARSMANIAC1- They have really nice pictures of cars.
  3. @JeremyClarkson- I followed Jeremy Clarkson because I’ve known him and cars since I was a child. He was on a show called “Top Gear,” and what he does, is drive cars, and gives his opinions to his viewers. So I knew he knew a lot about cars, so I thought that I really should follow this guy.
  4. @kblock43- I followed Ken Block because he is a pro driver in rallying and drifting, and loved by millions of people around the world.
  5. @MrJamesMay- I followed James May, because he was also another presenter on “Top Gear,” and knows a lot about cars.
  6. @tiff_tv-  Tiff Needell is a presenter for a channel on YouTube called Fifth Gear. I really enjoy his shows and is very experienced with cars.
  7. @TheSmokingTire- I followed Matt Farah, because he is into American muscle cars, and he was the only person that replied to my twitter Question. Thank You Matt Farah!
  8. @TannerFoust- I followed Tanner Foust because he is a professional on cars, and a professional driver who does a lot of stunts. He is also very knowledgeable about cars and their parts.
  9. @sportauto- Sport Auto love super cars, and know about them. Debut dates and a lot more.
  10. @FifthGearTV- Fifth Gear is a show on YouTube, full of presenters who are very passionate about cars.

These people relate to my Genius Hour project because they are all associate with it. They also gave me so information that I was able to incorporate in my project. I didn’t really request a lot of information from them, but I asked them questions and advice for my own good. I can incorporate it in my Genius Hour project, on knowledge about cars that I don’t know.

Results:

I only got one reply out of ten, from Matt Farah. Two out of ten of the are currently following me. Matt Farah replied and didn’t ask for any assistance, but am pretty sure he’ll reply if I was to ask another question. I didn’t continue any of the conversations, because I only asked questions.

I can use this process in school in the future, for other projects that aren’t Genius Hour. I can create a whole new list of the people I follow, that are in the field am willing to learn about.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *